Indian Books Awarded the Booker Prize

WRITTEN BY Saumya Jaiswar education

Arundhati Roy Birthday

Suzanna Arundhati Roy (born November 24, 1961) is an Indian author who won the Booker Prize for Fiction in 1997 and wrote a best-selling book by an Indian author who is not an expatriate.

What is Booker Prize?

Booker Prize, formerly known as the Booker Prize for Fiction (1969-2001) and the Man Booker Prize (2002-2019), is an annual literary award given to the author of the best novel written in English.

Arundhati Roy for The God of Small Things in 1997

Arundhati Roy's novel The God of Small Things is a family drama set in India. It is Roy's first novel, and it is about the childhood experiences of fraternal twins.

VS Naipaul won the award for In a Free State in 1971

V. S. Naipaul's novel was published in 1971. The plot is comprised of a framing narrative and 3 short stories titled 'One out of Many,' ''Tell Me Who to Kill,' and 'In a Free State.'

Salman Rushdie for Midnight’s Children in 1981

It is a postcolonial, postmodern, and magical realist story told in the context of historical events by its main protagonist, Saleem Sinai.

Kiran Desai for The Inheritance of Loss in 2006

Among its main themes are migration, living between two worlds, and between past and present.

Aravind Adiga for The White Tiger in 2008

Aravind Adiga is an Indian author who wrote the novel The White Tiger. It was published in 2008. The novel offers a darkly humorous view of India's class struggle in a globalised world.

For more such stories stay tuned...