1983 World Cup Indian Team: Then Vs Now

WRITTEN BY Akhil Singhal

India Won the First World Cup (1983)

39 years ago today on June 25, the Indian cricket team won the World Cup for the first time under the captaincy of Kapil Dev by defeating a strong team like West Indies.

Kris Srikkanth

He was the opener Batsman of the Indian cricket team

Kapil Dev

Kapil Dev was the captain of the team in the 1983 World Cup and under his leadership, the Indian team won the first World Cup.

Mohinder Amarnath

Mahendra Amarnath was the vice-captain of the Indian cricket team in the 1983 World Cup. He gave the best performance for the Indian cricket team in the final and semi-final matches, due to which he a

Sunil Gavaskar

Sunil Gavaskar, the opener of the Indian team and the best batsman of his time, could not show much in the final match and was out for 2 runs.

Roger Binny

Indian team's fast bowler Roger Binny took a wicket in the final in the World Cup.

Sandeep Patil

Sandeep Patil played some good innings in the World Cup, he was counted among the good batsmen of the team.

Kirti Azad

Kirti Azad was also a part of the Indian World Cup final team, currently he is the leader of Congress TMC.

Syed Kirmani

Syed Kirmani was considered the best wicketkeeper of the Indian cricket team as well as world cricket at that time. He made a total of 5 hunts against Zimbabwe which was a record.

Late Yashpal Sharma

Late Yashpal Sharma was one of the best batsmen of the Indian cricket team, he played many good innings during the World Cup.

Madan Lal

Madanlal took a total of 3 wickets with an innings of 17 runs in the World Cup final match, out of these three wickets, one of the best players of that time, Viv Richards was also involved

Balwinder Sandhu

Sindhu was one of the leading bowlers of the Indian cricket team and also took 2 wickets in the final of the World Cup.

For More Such Stories...