Bharat Ratna- The Highest Civilian Award of India

WRITTEN BY Saumya Jaiswar2023-01-02,12:20:30 news

When was Bharat Ratna Instituted?

On 2 January 1954, The Bharat Ratna Award was instituted. It is awarded to recognise 'exceptional service/performance of the highest order', without distinction of race, occupation, position, or sex

First recipients of the Bharat Ratna

CM of Tamil Nadu – C. Rajagopalachari, 2nd President and the first Vice President of India – Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan and Nobel Prize Laureate and Physicist C. V. Raman was the recipients.

In which field Bharat Ratna is confered?

It is given in the arts, literature, science, and public services and later it was also awarded for 'any field of human endeavour'

Bharat Ratna Regulations

The recipient receives a Sanad (certificate) signed by the President of India and a medallion without any monetary grant.

How many Bharat Ratna awarded so far?

48 individuals, including 14 who were awarded Bharat Ratna posthumously. The youngest of the lot is Sachin Tendulkar.

How does the medal of Bharat Ratna look?

The current medal is in the shape of a peepal leaf. The text 'Bharat Ratna', is inscribed in Devanagari Script

For more such stories stay tuned...