Names Of Boundaries Of India With Neighbouring Countries

WRITTEN BY Saumya Jaiswar news

A What are International Borders?

Borderline is a dividing line that marks the territorial limits between two countries. India shares land borders with 7 countries Bhutan, Bangladesh, China, Afghanistan, Myanmar, Nepal, and Pakistan.


McMahon Line-( 890 kilometres)

McMahon line is a demarcation that separates Tibet and the northeast India. Colonel McMahon had proposed this line as the boundary between Tibet, China, and India at the Shimla in 1914.


Radcliffe Line( 3223 kilometres)

Radcliffe Line divided British India into India and Pakistan. It is named after the architect of this line, Sir Cyril Radcliffe, who was also the chairman of the Boundary Commissions.

Durand Line( 2640 kilometers)

Boundary line between India and Afghanistan demarcated by Sir Mortimer Durand, a British diplomat in the year 1896 is known as the Durand Line.

National Geographic Society

Line of Actual Control (LAC)

Line of Actual Control is the demarcation line between India and China which separates the India controlled territory from China-controlled territory in the former princely state of Jammu & Kashmir.

Line of Control (LOC)

The military controlled line between India and Pakistan in the former princely state of Jammu and Kashmir is named as the Line of Control (LOC).

For more such stories stay tuned...