75th Independence Day 2021 Fun Fact: What was India's national flag before independence, and what changes were made to it

Publish Date: 15 Aug, 2021 |

75th Independence Day 2021:

The country will be celebrating its 75th Independence Day this 15th August 2021, and after having such a magnificent performance at the Tokyo Olympics 2020, India will also be celebrating the win, as the players will be meeting the Prime Minister at the Red Fort after the Flag hoisting ceremony.

While talking about the flag, in this article further, we will know more about the “Evolution of our Tiranga over time, how many times our national flag changed, and how our national flag used to appear before India’spartioton or during undivided India.

What are the changes made to our national flag:

  • India’s first national flag looked like what is presented in the picture below:


The first national flag of India was hoisted on 7th August 1906, at the Parsee Bagan Square (Green Park) in Calcutta. The flag had three stripes of green, yellow and red color. The green stripe on the top had white lotuses representing the eight provinces of the nation. There was a shining sun and a crescent on the bottom red stripe. The central yellow stripe had Vande Mataram written on it in the Devnagri script.

  • The second national flag of India is presented in the picture below:


The second national flag was hoisted in the year 1907, in Paris. The top stripes had simpler flowers and the button stripe had the sun on the left side and a crescent moon along with a star on the right side. While the central stripe of the flag remained the same.

  • The third national flag of India is presented in the picture below:


The third national flag of India was hoisted in the year 1917. It was hoisted by Dr. Annie Besant and Lokmanya Tilak during the home rule movement. The third national flag had five red and four green alternate horizontal stripes. It also had seven stars in the Saptarishi configuration imposed on them. The flag also featured Union Jack in the upper left corner and a crescent along with a star in the top right corner.

  • The fourth national flag of India is presented in the picture below:


This was the fourth national flag which was unofficially adopted in 1921. During the session of the All India Congress Committee, which met at the Bezwada (now Vijayawada) in 1921, an Andhra youth designed the flag and took it to Mahatma Gandhi.

The flag has two colors of red and green, representing the two major communities Hindu and Muslim. While Gandhi Ji suggested the addition of a white stripe representing all other communities of the country along with a spinning wheel to symbolize the progress of the nation.

  • The fifth national flag of India is presented in the picture below:


The fifth national flag was adopted in the year 1931 after a resolution was passed stating the adoption of a tricolor flag as our national flag, as the communal interpretation of the previous flag doesn’t go well. The fifth flag was designed by Pingali Venayya and was officially adopted by the National Congress. This flag is quite similar to our present national flag.

  • The sixth national flag of India is presented in the picture below:


The sixth and our present national flag was adopted on 22nd July 1947 as free India national flag. While the 24 spoke Ashoka Chakra of Emperor Ashoka was adopted by replacing the spinning wheel representing Dharma and righteousness, as the emblem on the flag. This flag (also known as Tiranga was first hoisted at the Council House on 15th August 1947.




Related videos

यह भी पढ़ें

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy.Accept