Bengal bypoll Elections: Bhawanipur registers 21.73% turnout till 11 am amidst rain

Publish Date: 30 Sep, 2021 |

Bypoll elections are taking place today in three constituencies of West Bengal- Bhawanipur, Jangipur and Samshregunj. The elections are significant since they are also going to test the fate of the state’s Chief Minister Mamta Banarjee. After failing to register a win in assembly elections, earlier this year, Mamta is now contesting from Bhawanipur in Bypoll elections.

Low voting turnout

The rate of voting seems very low this time since the constituency registered just 21.73% turnout till 11 am in Morning, which is lowest of all time. Weather has been an important factor in reducing the turnout. Due to adverse weather conditions and rainfall, people are unsure of going out and vote.

Mamta Vs Tibrewal

Mamta Banarjee is contesting against BJP’s Priyanka Tibrewal, who alleged that at the polling booth of ward number 72, Madan Mitra, A TMC MLA , tried to capture booth by forcefully obstructing the use of EMI machines.  She also said that state government is in fear and that security should not be compromised, to ensure which, she’ll visit the polling booths of the constituency.

Need for Mamta to contest

Earlier Mamta Banarjee contested from Nandigram, West Bengal but lost it to BJP’s Suvendu Adhikari, TMC’s ex leader and now the leader of opposition of the state’s assembly. But TMC registered a win in state’s assembly by securing 213 of 294 seats and Mamta Banarjee once again took oath as the Chief Minister. To secure her post, she needed to be elected to the state’s assembly within six months, for which she is now contesting the bypoll election from her traditional seat of Bhawanipur.


Related videos

यह भी पढ़ें

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy.Accept