Bhupendra Patel Oath Ceremony: Bhupendra Patel sworn in as the 17th Chief Minister of Gujarat, Amit Shah attends the ceremony

Publish Date: 13 Sep, 2021 |

Bhupendra Patel Oath Ceremony:

Gujarat's new Chief Minister Bhupendra Patel has taken the oath of office as the 17th Chief Minister of the state, while Union Home Minister Amit Shah also attended the swearing-in ceremony. Bhupendra Patel was sworn-in alone today, while the ministers will take the oath afterwards. Earlier on Sunday evening, Bhupendra Patel met Gujarat Governor Acharya Devvrat at Raj Bhavan and staked claim to form the government.

Bhupendra Patel was elected the leader of the legislature party:

Bhupendra Patel, 55, was unanimously elected the leader of the BJP Legislature Party in Ahmedabad on Sunday. Chief Minister Vijay Rupani proposed Patel's name. CM Rupani had announced his resignation from the post of Chief Minister on Saturday. Most of the 112 BJP MLAs in the 182-member assembly were present in the meeting.

Bhupendra Patel is considered close to Anandiben Patel:

Bhupendra Patel is known as a soft-spoken worker, who has traveled from the municipal level leader to the top post in the politics of the state. Patel contested from the state's Ghatlodiya assembly seat for the first time in 2017 and won by over 1.17 lakh votes, a record in that election. Patel, fondly called 'Dada' among his supporters, is considered close to Anandiben Patel, former Gujarat Chief Minister, and Uttar Pradesh Governor. The assembly he represents is part of the Gandhinagar Lok Sabha seat, from where Union Home Minister Amit Shah is an MP.

Bhupendra was the chairman of the standing committee of the largest urban body, Ahmedabad Municipal Corporation:

Patel was the chairman of the Ahmedabad Urban Development Authority (AUDA) from 2015 to 2017. Prior to this, he was the chairman of the standing committee of Ahmedabad Municipal Corporation, the largest urban body of Gujarat, from 2010 to 2015. Patel, who holds a diploma in civil engineering, was active in local politics before contesting the assembly elections and was a member of the Ahmedabad district's Memnagar municipality and became its president twice. He is also the trustee of Sardardham Vishwa Patidar Kendra, an organization dedicated to the socio-economic development of the Patidar community.


Related videos

यह भी पढ़ें

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy.Accept