Budget History in India: Who Presented the Budget for the first time? Complete timeline of Budget Since 1947- Watch Video

Publish Date: 21 Jan, 2022 |

Budget History in India: The Union Budget of India is also called the Annual Financial Statement in Article 112 of the Constitution of India. It is the annual budget of the Republic of India,  which is presented each year on the very first day of February by the Finance Minister of India in Parliament. The Budget comes into effect on 1 April, the start of India's financial year.


Who presented the Budget for First Time in India? | Complete Budget Timeline


  1.  On 26 November 1947, The first Union budget of independent India was presented by R. K. Shanmukham Chetty. 

  2. The Union budgets for the fiscal years 1959–61 to 1963–64, inclusive of the interim budget for 1962–63, were presented by Morarji Desai. 

  3. Vyas presented budgets that included five annual budgets, an interim budget during his first stint and one interim budget and three final budgets in his second tenure when he was both the Finance Minister and Deputy Prime Minister of India. 

  4. Indira Gandhi, the then Prime Minister of India, took over the Ministry of Finance to become the first woman to hold the post of finance minister. 

  5. Pranab Mukherjee, presented the annual budgets for 1982–83, 1983–84 and 1984–85. 

  6. Rajiv Gandhi presented the budget for 1987–89.

  7. N. D. Tiwary presented the budget for 1988–89.

  8. S B Chavan for 1989–90.

  9. Madhu Dandawate presented the Union budget for 1990–91. 

  10. Manmohan Singh became the Finance Minister but presented the interim budget for 1991–92 as elections.

  11. the final budget for 1996–97 was presented by P. Chidambaram.

  12. Yashwant Sinha from BJP, the then Finance Minister, presented the interim and final budgets for 1998–99. 

  13. Due to elections in May 2004, an interim budget was presented by Jaswant Singh. 

  14. The Union Budget of India for 2012–2013 was presented by Pranab Mukherjee, on 16 March 2012.

  15. The Union Budget of India for 2013–2014 was presented by P. Chidambaram.

  16. The Union Budget of India for 2014–2019 was presented by Arun Jaitley.

  17. The Interim Union Budget for 2019–2020 was presented by Piyush Goyal.

  18. The Union Budget for 2019–2021 was presented by Nirmala Sitharaman. 


Related videos

यह भी पढ़ें

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy.Accept