Karnataka Elections: Race to become CM continues, Siddaramaiah leading on top

Ayushee JoshiPublish Date: 15 May, 2023

Karnataka Election Results: Congress received more than 43% of the vote. On the other hand, the BJP had to settle for only 66 seats, resulting in their defeat. Everyone is now focused on the Chief Minister in the wake of the Congress’ enormous victory. 

Siddaramaiah and DK Shivkumar are considered potential candidates for the position of CM. On Sunday evening, the Congress party convened a gathering of the Congress Legislature Party at a hotel in Bangalore, where it was anticipated that a choice would be made on the chief ministerial candidate. Four formulas are being discussed in the Congress. Siddaramaiah is in the lead in the first CM campaign due to his popularity and broad social support. They can be combined to become three deputy CMs from various societies. Possible names include DK Shivakumar from the Vokkaliga community, MB Patil from the Lingayat group, and G Parameshwara from the Dalit community. DK will receive the most crucial portfolio if there are three Deputy Chief Ministers. Only if DK is appointed Deputy Chief Minister can MB Patil and G Parameshwara be given significant cabinet positions. 

Related videos

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy.Accept