After four days of challenging discussions, the Congress will appoint Siddaramaiah as the chief minister and DK Shivakumar as the deputy chief minister at the Congress Legislative Party meeting in Bengaluru. They will take their oath on Saturday. Sources claim that Siddaramaiah would be chosen to lead the Congress Legislative Party and that negotiations to form the cabinet are almost complete. After D Devraj Urs (1972–1980), Siddaramaiah, 75, will be the first Chief Minister to serve a full term and then return to power.

Ministers who have completed the entire tenure

In the entire history of Karanataka Politics, there are only two ministers who have completed their entire 5-year tenure as the Chief Minister. The first politician to complete his entire tenure was S.M. Krishna who was a member of the Indian National Congress and was the Chief Minister of Karnataka from 1999 to 2004. After him, the only minister to ever complete his tenure was the currently elected and the former CM of Karnataka Siddaramaiah who is also a member of the Indian National Congress and was the Chief Minister from 2013 to 2018. This will be his second term as Chief Minister of Karnataka.

Last 10 Chief Ministers of Karnataka

Chief Minister Political Party Tenure                   
H.D. Kumaraswamy Janata Dal 2006-2007
BS Yediyurappa BJP 2007-2007
BS Yediyurappa BJP 2008-2011
Sadananda Gowda BJP 2011-2012
Jagadish Shettar BJP 2012-2013
Siddaramaiah INC 2013-2018
BS Yediyurappa BJP 2018-2018
H.D. Kumaraswamy Janata Dal 2018-2019
BS Yediyurappa BJP 2019-2021
Basavaraj Bommai BJP 2021-2023

Also Read: Karnataka CM Siddaramaiah Biography, Personal Life, Family, Political Career, and more