MP Municipal Election 2022: Congress captures BJP's fort, hopes for AAP and AIMIM

Publish Date: 18 Jul, 2022 |

The picture of the urban body elections in Madhya Pradesh has become clear and the strong fortresses of the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) have also collapsed. Elections were held in 11 municipal corporations in the first round, the results of which have been declared. Out of these 11, BJP has got success in the mayoral elections of 7 municipal corporations, Congress on 3 and Aam Aadmi Party on one. 

Seeing the results of the urban body elections, it may seem that the BJP has got an edge, but the party has suffered a loss as compared to the last election. Many BJP veterans could not even save their stronghold.

BJP occupied seats

In Satna, BJP's mayoral candidate Yogesh Kumar Tamrakar defeated Siddharth Kushwaha of Congress by a margin of 24,916 votes. In Khandwa, BJP's mayoral candidate Amrita Yadav defeated Asha Jain of Congress by 19,763 votes. In Sagar, BJP's mayoral candidate Sangeeta Tiwari defeated Nidhi Jain of Congress by 12,665 votes. 

The BJP has also captured the mayor seat of Indore, which is called the financial capital of the state. Similarly, in Bhopal, BJP's mayoral candidate Malti Rai is leading over her Congress rival Vibha Patel by a margin of 23,953 votes. On the other hand, Mukesh Tatwal of BJP has defeated Mahesh Parmar of Congress from Ujjain.

Congress occupied seats

Congress has managed to win three seats in the municipal elections. After 57 years, there will be Congress mayor in Gwalior, after 23 years in Jabalpur and after 18 years in Chhindwara. The results of the municipal elections for the Congress have been much better than the previous elections. Apart from capturing the post of mayor in three municipal corporations, the Congress also gave a tough fight to the BJP in Ujjain and Burhanpur. 

The Congress has won in Chhindwara, the stronghold of state Congress President Kamal Nath, but despite having no leader in Gwalior, the party was successful in making its mayor. The credit for Gwalior's victory goes to Satish Sikarwar, whose wife has won the mayor's election. In most places, there has been an increase in the vote of Congress, which is being considered as a political sanjeevani for the assembly elections to be held next year.


Related videos

यह भी पढ़ें

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy.Accept