Rajya Sabha Results 2022: 3 seats for BJP in Maharashtra, defeat of Haryana Congress. Rajasthan| Karnataka

Publish Date: 11 Jun, 2022 |

The contest for 16 Rajya Sabha seats in 4 states of Rajasthan, Haryana, Maharashtra and Karnataka was interesting. Lotus was seen blooming in Karnataka too. The most surprising result came from Haryana, where Congress candidate Ajay Maken lost to independent candidate Kartikeya Sharma in a close contest. In Haryana, elections were held for two Rajya Sabha seats, in which one seat was won by BJP's Krishanlal Panwar, while the other seat went to Kartikeya Sharma.

Seats won in Maharashtra, Karnataka, Haryana, Rajasthan


In the elections held for 4 Rajya Sabha seats in Rajasthan, Congress has won 3 seats. All three Congress candidates Pramod Tiwari, Randeep Surjewala and Mukul Wasnik won from Rajasthan. While only former BJP minister Ghanshyam Tiwari could reach the Upper House.


In Haryana, BJP's Krishan Lal Panwar and independent candidate Karthikeya Sharma have won in the elections for two Rajya Sabha seats. On the other hand, Ajay Maken of Congress has to face defeat in the elections. According to Congress MLA Bharat Bhushan Batra in Haryana, Ajay Maken lost by a very small margin. In Haryana, 89 members out of 90 voted, Independent MLA Balraj Kundu did not cast his vote.


BJP has won three seats in the Rajya Sabha elections for 4 seats in Karnataka. Only one seat came in the account of Congress. While the party had fielded its candidates on two seats. The Janata Dal Secular (JDS) could not win a single seat. JDS had fielded a candidate despite not having enough votes. Interestingly, despite the issue of the whip, a JDS MLA voted for the Congress candidate. After the counting of votes, election officials declared BJP leader and Union Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman, actor-politician Jaggesh and outgoing MLC Lahar Singh Siroya and Congress leader and former Union minister Jairam Ramesh as the winners.


Out of 6 seats in Maharashtra, BJP won three, Shiv Sena, Congress and NCP won one seat each. Piyush Goyal and Anil Bonde got 48-48 votes. With this, BJP's third candidate Dhananjay Mahadik got more votes than Shiv Sena's Sanjay Raut. Shiv Sena's Sanjay Raut and NCP's Praful Patel have won the elections. Congress candidate Imran Pratapgarhi also emerged victorious.


Related videos

यह भी पढ़ें

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy.Accept