This Day in History: Know what is Natal Indian Congress (NIC), On 19th October 1913 NIC secretaries criticized Mahatma Gandhi

Publish Date: 19 Oct, 2021
Pinterest This Day in History: Know what is Natal Indian Congress (NIC), On 19th October 1913 NIC secretaries criticized Mahatma Gandhi

19th October in History:

India’s struggle for independence wasn’t a cakewalk and saw the formation of various groups, organizations, and committees by the freedom fighters, and the then leaders in power to eliminate discrimination and elevate the status of the socially backward classes. And one such organization formed was Natal Indian Congress (NIC). 

And today’s “This Day in History” article further, we will know more about the Natal Indian Congress, and one such interesting event that took place at one of the Natal Indian Congress Meetings.

On 19th October 1913, At a meeting of the Natal Indian Congress (NIC) in Durban, the NIC secretaries, M. C. Anglia and Dada Osman, severely criticise Mahatma Gandhi and tender their resignations.

So, in this article further let’s know more about what was Natal Indian Congress, and who established it.

What was Natal Indian Congress (NIC)?

The Natal Indian Congress (NIC) was an organization formed with the aim to fight discrimination against Indians in South Africa. The Natal Indian Congress was established by Mahatma Gandhi who was also the Honorary Secretary of Natal Indian Congress while Abdoola Hajee Afam Jhaveri (Dada Abdulla) was elected as the prescient of the organization. 

The Vice Presidents of Natal Indian Congress were- Hajee Mahomed Hajee Dada, Abdool Kadir, Hajee Dada Hajee Habib, Moosa Hajee Adam, P. Dawjee Mahomed, Peeran Mahomed, Murugesa Pillay, Ramaswami Naidoo, Hoosen Miran, Adamjee Miankhan, K. R. Nayanah, Amod Bayat (P. M. Burg), Moosa Hajee Cassim, Mahomed Cassim Jeeva, Parsee Rustomjee, Dawad Mahomed, Hoosen Cassim Amod Tili, Doraiswamy Pillay, Omar Hajee Aba, Osmankhan Rahamatkhan, Rangaswami Padayachi, Hajee Mahomed (P. M. Burg), Camroodeen (P. M. Burg).

The members of Natal Indian Congress were - the Vice-Presidents and Messrs M. D. Joshi, Narsiram, Manekji, Dowjee Mammuji Mutalah, Muthu Krishna, Bissessar, Goolam Hoosen Randeri, Shamshoodeen, G. A. Bassa, Sarabjit, L. Gabriel, James Christopher, Sooboo Naidu, John Gabriel, Suleiman Voraji, Cassimjee Amoojee, R. Kundaswamy Naidu, M. E. Kathrada, Ibrahim M. Khatri, Shaik Farid, Varind Ismail, Ranjit, Perumal Naidoo, Parsee Dhanjisha, Royappan, Joosub Abdool Carim, Arjun Singh, Ismail Kadir, Easop Kadua, Mahomed Esak, Mahomed Hafejee, A. M. Paruck, Suleiman Dawjee, V. Narayana Pather, Lutchman Panday, Osman Ahmed & Mahomed Tayub.

Who founded Natal Indian Congress (NIC)?

Natal Indian Congress was founded by Mahatma Gandhi in 1894, and the constitution was put in place on 22nd August 1894. 

During the initial formative years of the Natal Indian Congress, many early petitions were introduced for changes to proposed discriminatory legislation, however, in the 1960s the Natal Indian Congress became inactive due to the growing state repression and the ban of its leaders. 

The Natal Indian Congress was later allied with the African National Congress.


Related Videos

यह भी पढ़ें

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy.Accept