UP Assembly Election 2022: Akhilesh Yadav will contest the assembly elections, BJP taunts

Publish Date: 19 Jan, 2022 |

After seeing Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath stand for assembly elections 2022 from Gorakhpur constituency, Samajwadi Party chief Akhilesh Yadav has also decided to give his name for this year’s election, but the constituency is yet to be decided. After hearing the news about CM Yogi’s name in the candidate list, Akhilesh said that if Samajwadi Party will want me to stand for the elections, then I would be happy to. And this decision of Akhilesh Yadav has led BJP to take shots at SP. BJP official Mosin Raza said that Akhilesh is not fighting these elections for his happiness, but because of Party’s pressure. He also said that the Samajwadi Party might have raised a lot of questions on why he was not taking part in the elections. He said that he is a backdoor player, and will try to win these elections from behind rather than standing in the front, like BJP workers. 

Currently, Akhilesh is a MP from Azamgarh constituency. He first won his Lok Sabha elections in 2002, from Kannauj constituency. Then again he won the same elections in 2004 and 2009. He became the Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh in 2012, after resigning from his Kannauj MP seat. After being the CM of UP, he became the member of the Legislative council.

This is the first time he would be sending in a legislative assembly election, but it is yet to be decided as to which constituency he might chose. The first phase of polling will be held on February 10 and the second phase will be held on February 14. Similarly, in the third phase on February 20, in the fourth phase on February 23, in the fifth phase on February 27. The sixth phase on March 3, and finally the seventh and final phase on March 7. The result of all the pollings will be declared on March 10th.  

Related videos

यह भी पढ़ें

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy.Accept