UP Assembly Election 2022: The seat of Barabanki where 'lotus' has not blossomed yet

Publish Date: 27 Jan, 2022 |

Barabanki district itself is known for social harmony. The Sadar assembly seat here also has something special in it. Here the God of the Sufi saint Haji Waris Ali Shah, who gave the message of 'Jo Rab Hai Wahi Ram Hai' to the whole world, is the temple of the historical Mahadev around the city. There are also churches, gurudwaras and Jain temples, which strengthen the bond of brotherhood. 

This seat is considered a stronghold of Samajwadi Party. In the last 30 years SP is the party which has registered the most number of wins from here. BJP has not registered a single win from this constituency. The elections here will take place in the 5th phase. 

The number of voters registered this year is 3,90,319.  The last elections of 2017 were won by Dharam Raj Yadav from SP. Mulayam Singh’s daughter and BJP member Aparna Yadav might also contest elections from here. 

Barabanki District

Barabanki district is one of the five districts of Faizabad division (officially Ayodhya division), in the central Awadh region of Uttar Pradesh, India. Barabanki city is the administrative headquarters of Barabanki district. Total area of Barabanki district is 3891.5 Sq. Km.It has a population density of 686.50 per square kilometer.

Barabanki Parliamentry Constituency

Barabanki parliamentary constituency is reserved for SC and has five assembly segments: Zaidpur, Kursi, Barabanki, Ramnagar and Haidergarh. There are a total over 18 lakh voters in all 5 constituecies (18,04,983) comprising 20% Muslims, 12.6% Yadavs, 12% Kurmis, 10.7% Brahmins, 10% Pasis and 9.8% Kshatriyas. Being a reserved constituency, caste plays a decisive role in the result.


Related videos

यह भी पढ़ें

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy.Accept