West Bengal Bypoll elections: Last day to campaign, BJP and Trinamool Congress make preparations

Publish Date: 27 Sep, 2021 |

Bypoll elections are going to be held at three constituencies of West Bengal’s legislative assembly on September 30,2021, to campaign for which, today is the last day. Bharatiya Janata party has deployed 80 workers to advocate for it’s cause and ensure a win for the party in Bypoll elections.

Significance of Elections

West Bengal’s Chief Minister, Mamta Banarjee, is also going to contest in the election from Bhawanipur constituency, making the elections more significant. Earlier, during the Assembly elections of West Bengal, Mamta Banarjee had contested from Nandigram constituency, but lost it to BJP’s candidate and her ex party worker, Suvendu Adhikari, currently the leader of Opposition in West Bengal’s Legislative Assembly.

Why is Mamta Banerjee contesting?

Despite her defeat, the All India Trinamool Congress secured 213 of 292 seats and formed government in the state and Mamta Banarjee once again took oath as the Chief Minister of the state. But to continue in office, she had to become the member of Legislative assembly within six months. Hence, she is contesting in Bypoll elections against BJP’s candidate Priyanka Tibrewal from Bhawanipur constituency, which was earlier won by Sovandeb Chattopadhyay in the assembly elections, but later resigned to let Mamta contest over it. The congress has decided not to contest from the constituency.

Today, at 5pm, campaigning for Bypoll elections will end and hence, popular faces of both BJP and Trinamool Congress are going to aggressively campaign for their respective parties today.  Both the parties are confident of their win. Election commission has declared all the three seats sensitive and has made strict arrangements for the security of the polling booths, keeping in mind the violence happened during the assembly elections. The verdict will be out on October 3,2021 and it will be interesting to see who secures a win on Bhawanipur constituency and other constituencies.


Related videos

यह भी पढ़ें

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy.Accept