What Is Nobel Prize? Know important facts, award money, winners 2022 and more

Publish Date: 09 Dec, 2022
What Is Nobel Prize? Know important facts, award money, winners 2022 and more

Nobel Prize is a prestigious award which is given separately in six different fields “to those who, during the preceding year, have conferred the greatest benefit to humankind”. These six fields are Physics, Chemistry, Physiology or Medicine, Literature, Economic Sciences and Peace. 

The Peace Prize was characterised as “to the person who has done the most or best to advance fellowship among nations, the abolition or reduction of standing armies, and the establishment and promotion of peace congresses". 

Who established Nobel Prize?

The Prize is officially not a Nobel Prize but it is called as "The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel". It was established by Sveriges Riksbank (Sweden’s central bank).

All about Alfred Nobel

Nobel was a Swedish manufacturer, scientist, and engineer best known for developing dynamite. He was born on October 21, 1833, in Stockholm, Sweden. He was multilingual and had a passion for poetry and play. He reportedly had opinions that were regarded as radical at the time and showed a keen interest in matters of peace. 1896 saw his passing. Most of his assets were left to the establishment of five prizes, which later evolved into the Nobel Prizes, according to his will.

Nobel Prize award money

Nobel Prize award winners are also given a handsome sum of money. The award money has increased over the years and currently stands at $1.1 million per prize.

 Nobel Prize 2022 Winners 

  • Nobel Prize 2022 for Economic Sciences- The Nobel Prize 202 winner for Economic Sciences is awarded to Ben Bernanke, Douglas Diamond and Philip Dybvig for research on Banks and Financial crises. 

  • Nobel Peace Prize 2022- The Norwegian Nobel Committee has decided to award the Nobel Peace Prize 2022 to human rights advocate Ales Bialiatski from Belarus. 

  • Nobel Prize for Medicine 2022- The Nobel Prize 2022 for medicine or physiology is awarded to Swedish geneticist Svante Pääbo.

  • Nobel Prize for Physics 2022- The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences announced, the Nobel Prize in Physics 2022 is awarded to Alain Aspect (France), John F. Clauser (USA), and Anton Zeilinger (Austria) for their exceptional work on quantum mechanics. 

  • Nobel Prize for Chemistry 2022- The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2022 is awarded jointly to Carolyn R. Bertozzi, Morten Meldal, and K. Barry Sharpless. 

  • Nobel Prize for Literature 2022- The Swedish Academy has announced the Nobel Prize in Literature 2022 to Annie Ernaux(France).

Related Videos

यह भी पढ़ें

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy.Accept