How are Cyclones are Named- Watch Video

Publish Date: 02 Dec, 2020 |


Since 1953, the Miami National Hurricane Center and the World Meteorological Organization (WMO) have been named after storms and tropical cyclones but no cyclones originating in the northern Indian Ocean were named. In 2004, at the initiative of India, eight countries in the Indian Ocean region started the system of naming storms. These include Bangladesh, India, Maldives, Myanmar, Oman, Pakistan, Thailand and Sri Lanka. India has so far named four of the 32 storms - Lahar, Megh, Sagar and Vayu. At the same time, the names of Phanus and Nargis storms were kept from Pakistan. The storm is named so that people can be easily warned about it. People can also be tempted about the danger from this as soon as possible. If people are aware of the storm, then they will be able to prepare better by keeping pace with the government. Also, people can remember the names of these storms, so storms are named short.



Related videos

यह भी पढ़ें

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy.Accept